Cultural Differences: Ikealand//’Straya ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ

It’s almost 6 months to the day that I left Sydney and have been living in Stockholm ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช , here’s a couple things that I found myself missing about ‘Straya ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ that all my Swedish mates just won’t understand:

  1. “Thongs” go in your feet, the skanky undies you wear are called G-Bangers, sorry but that’s just a fact so please stop staring at me when I say that I broke my thong, it’s devastating enough ๐Ÿ‘™๐Ÿ‘ฃ๐Ÿ‘™
  2. Also it’s “Tomato Sauce” not “Ketchup”, it’s a bloody prawn not shrimp and “chuck a U-ey” not “please preform a u turn manoeuvre”
  3. Even though I personally don’t drink coffee, the coffee is Sweden is shit and y’all need to up yo game โ˜•๏ธ
  4. Chicken Salt – enough said
  5. Having people reply “omg thankyou” instead of “fuck off” when I tell them their mad cunts!
  6. Actual beaches with sand and waves, sorry but a riverbank or pebbles near water ain’t no goddamn beach ๐ŸŒŠ ๐ŸŒŠ
  7. Having money that is brightly coloured and made of plastic so the shop assistants don’t think you’re dyslexic
  8. “I’m not here to fuck spiders” – had to put it in there! ๐Ÿ•ท ๐Ÿ•ท ๐Ÿ•ท
  9. The sun and not having to constantly wear 4 layers โ˜€๏ธ
  10. $10 Chicken Parma/ Steak pub dinners instead of a million dollars for just one drink anywhere
  11. GOOD ASIAN FOOD! Cannot stress this enough! Somebody mail me some Pad See Ew pronto pls ๐Ÿœ
  12. Having friendly interactions with strangers rather than automatically thinking kindness is unnatural and has no place in society ๐Ÿ™…๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™…๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ™…๐Ÿพ
  13. People understanding me when I answer “Yeah Nah” or “Nah Yeah” to their questions, like how much clearer do I need to be here! ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿพ
  14. Warm Christmas that’s celebrated on the 25th and not the 24th!

Alas I still love Sweden and my adopted home of Stockholm! โœŒ๐Ÿพ๏ธ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช

IMG_2844.JPGIMG_1530.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

